Texas Execution Information Center


Watch List

Updated on 31 October 2019.

Most of Texas' death row prisoners are ineligible for execution at any given moment because of the current status of their appeals. This "watch list" shows the prisoners on Texas' death row whose cases we feel are close to final review, or are likely to become close to final some time this year. This list is not official and is not supported or endorsed by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice, the Office of the Attorney General, or any other state entity.

This page is updated monthly.

Watch List on 1 January 2019
NameOn Death
Row Since
856Willie Terion Washington12/11/1986
909Emanuel Kemp Jr.7/5/1988
925Steven Anthony Butler12/1/1988On 9/18/2019, the TCCA ordered a lower court to consider his intellectual disability claim.
956Robert Mitchell Jennings11/10/1989Executed on 1/30/2019.
976Billy Wayne Coble6/14/1990Executed on 2/28/2019.
992Mark Allen Robertson2/27/1991His execution, scheduled for 4/11/2019, was stayed by the TCCA.
999000Brent Ray Brewer6/4/1991TCCA dismissed his appeal on 10/23/2019.
999044Eugene Alvin Broxton9/8/1992
999046George Edward McFarland9/29/1992
999051David Leonard Wood1/14/1993
999075Tony Egbuna Ford10/14/1993On 9/11/19, the TCCA denied his appeal.
999105James Lee Henderson6/8/1994
999108Gerald Cornelius Eldridge6/24/1994
999109Charles Douglas Raby6/30/1994
999110Arthur Brown Jr.6/30/1994
999137Billy Joe Wardlow2/13/1995Scheduled for 4/29/2020.
999143Henry Watkins Skinner3/31/1995
999144Erica Yvonne Sheppard4/25/1995
999164Scott Louis Panetti9/25/1995
999174Michael Dean Gonzales12/11/1995US5CCA denied permission to appeal on 5/17/2019.
999181Larry Hatten2/9/1996
999189Robert Alan Fratta5/3/1996
999202Joseph Andrew Prystash8/2/1996
999203Victor Hugo Saldano9/12/1996US5CCA denied his appeal on 1/15/2019.
999204Anthony Shawn Medina9/13/1996
999205Garcia Glenn White9/13/1996
999207Jorge Villanueva11/1/1996
999208Paul Wayne Slater11/1/1996
999228Eric Dewayne Cathey4/29/1997
999235Carlos Trevino8/6/1997Scheduled for 3/11/2020.
999240Carlos Manuel Ayestas9/17/1997US5CCA affirmed a lower court's denial of his request for additional investigatory funding.
999247Ramiro Rubi Ibarra12/10/1997The US5CCA denied his appeal on 8/26/2019.
999256Jeffery Lee Wood3/3/1998
999259Larry Edgar Estrada4/1/1998
999260Chuong Duong Tong4/1/1998
999271Rodney Reed5/29/1998Scheduled for 11/20/2019.
999279Julius Jerome Murphy8/18/1998
999282Anthony Bartee9/3/1998
999283Arthur Lee Burton9/16/1998
999290Ignacio Gomez12/10/1998
999291Felix Rocha12/16/1998
999295John William King2/25/1999Executed on 4/24/2019.
999299Charles Don Flores4/2/1999
999300David Lynn Carpenter4/8/1999
999306Charles Victor Thompson5/5/1999US5CCA denied his appeal on 10/29/2019.
999308Ruben Gutierrez5/14/1999His execution, scheduled for 10/30/2019, was stayed by the TCCA on a technicality.
999315John Lezell Balentine6/11/1999
999319Richard Vasquez6/24/1999
999325Britt Allen Ripkowski9/15/1999
999328Louis Castro Perez10/20/1999
999330Anthony Cardell Haynes11/3/1999
999331Faryion Edward Wardrip11/9/1999
999332Juan Carlos Alvarez11/17/1999
999333Charles Mamou Jr.11/17/1999
999354Joe Franco Garza Jr.4/18/2000
999361Larry Ray Swearingen7/12/2000Executed on 8/21/2019.
999366Anibal Canales Jr.11/2/2000
999369Bernardo Aban Tercero12/13/2000
999376Bill Douglas Gates2/21/2001
999379Quintin Phillippe Jones3/16/2001US5CCA denied his appeal on 6/18/2019.
999383Jamaal Howard4/26/2001
999386Kerry Dimart Allen5/30/2001
999388Robert Lee Woodard6/20/2001
999390Gilmar Alexander Guevara6/26/2001
999392Jedidiah Isaac Murphy7/26/2001
999396Obie D. Weathers9/13/2001US5CCA denied his appeal on 2/15/2019.
999398William Speer10/30/2001
999399Ivan Abner Cantu11/8/2001
999402Robert Gene Will II1/28/2002
999406Linda Carty3/7/2002
999410Perry Allen Austin4/25/2002
999416Geronimo Rene Gutierrez5/21/2002On 9/11/2019, the TCCA ordered a lower court to consider his claim that he is retarded.
999420Perry Eugene Williams Jr.6/25/2002
999442Robert Leslie Roberson III2/21/2003
999443Pete Russell Jr.2/28/2003
999447Clinton Lee Young III4/15/2003
999450Abel Revill Ochoa5/15/2003Scheduled for 2/11/2020.
999453Randy Ethan Halprin6/12/2003His execution, scheduled for 10/10/2019, was stayed by the TCCA.
999458Ray McArthur Freeney9/27/2003
999459Billy Jack Crutsinger10/8/2003Executed on 9/4/2019.
999461Patrick Henry Murphy Jr.11/20/2003Scheduled for 11/13/2019.
999465Walter Alexander Sorto12/11/2003
999472William Darin Irvan3/3/2004
999473Guy Len Allen3/24/2004
999476Damon Roshun Matthews4/20/2004
999477Juan Jose Reynoso6/27/2007
999480Edgardo Rafael Cubas6/7/2004
999482Anthony Quinn Francois8/5/2004
999484Tracy Lane Beatty8/13/2004
999493Andre Lee Thomas3/16/2005
999497Justen Grant Hall5/11/2005Scheduled for 11/6/2019.
999498Moises Sandoval Mendoza7/1/2005
999505Travis Trevino Runnels11/16/2005Scheduled for 12/11/2019.
999506Edward Busby Jr.11/18/2005On 5/20/2019, the US5CCA denied his appeal.
999507Stephen Dale Barbee2/27/2006On 9/23/2019, the TCCA issued a stay of execution and requested briefings concerning whether he should receive a new trial.
999513Ramiro Felix Gonzales9/27/2006On 9/17/2019, the US5CCA denied his appeal.
999514Steven Lynn Long10/19/2006
999515Clifton Lamar Williams10/27/2006
999516John Steven Gardner11/20/2006Scheduled for 1/15/2020.
999517Tilon Lashon Carter12/12/2006
999519Ker'sean Olajuwa Ramey1/31/2007
999520Juan Ramon Meza Segundo2/15/2007
999523Richard Lee Tabler4/5/2007
999524Christopher Devon Jackson4/19/2017
999527Dexter Darnell Johnson7/2/2007His execution, scheduled for 8/15/2019, was stayed by the US5CCA.
999529Kosoul Chanthakoummane10/18/2007
999535Randall Wayne Mays5/16/2008On 10/4/2019, the trial judge withdrew his death warrant to perform a mental competency review.
999536Wesley Lynn Ruiz7/16/2008
999537Melissa Elizabeth Lucio8/12/2008On 7/29/2019, the US5CCA granted her request for a new trial.
999538Paul David Storey3/18/2015TCCA denied his appeal on 10/2/2019.
999541LeJames Norman12/12/2008
999542Robert Sparks1/8/2009Executed on 9/25/2019.
999543Raul Cortez2/4/2009
999544John Henry Ramirez2/13/2009US5CCA denied his appeal on 6/26/2019.
999550Paul Gilbert Devoe III10/16/2009
999553Fabian Hernandez2/9/2010
999558Blaine Milam6/11/2010His execution, scheduled for 1/15/2019, was stayed by the TCCA.
999563Travis James Mullis5/23/2011
999567John Hummel6/26/2011
999568Tedderick R. Batiste7/27/2011
999570Kwame Rockwell1/30/2012

1 June 2019 Additions
NameOn Death
Row Since
999571Mark Soliz3/28/2019Executed on 9/10/2019.

TCCA - Texas Court of Criminal Appeals
US5CCA - U.S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
USDC - U.S. district court
USSC - U.S. Supreme Court


Copyright © 2002-2019 by David Carson. Unauthorized publication, either printed or electronic, is prohibited. This includes posting to Usenet, blogs, and message boards.

Privacy PolicyContactAdvertising